Home/Blogs/Is Gin That’s Made from Grain Gluten-Free?​

Is Gin That’s Made from Grain Gluten-Free?

Whether you are coeliac or intolerant to gluten, finding alcoholic drinks you can enjoy safely can be a challenge. According to Coeliac UK, spirits like gin are among the best options for safe drinks, alongside gluten-free beer, despite the fact that many gins originate from cereals and other grains. 

In this guide, we explore why and how grain gin is gluten-free and explain why it’s still important to check your gin to ensure it is completely free of gluten before purchasing.

What Is Grain-Based Gin?

‘Grain-based gin’ refers to any juniper-based spirit that originates from grains as the neutral alcohol used as a base before distillation extracts the alcohol from it. The choice of grain affects the texture and flavour of the final gin product.

Brummie Gin for sale from The Birmingham Brewing Company

Common Grains Used in Gin Production

A variety of different grains are used to make gin. These may be used individually or in combination, depending on the desired end result. Some of the most common grains used for gin include:

  • Wheat: This grain is popular for its sweet and silky texture and taste
  • Barley: Used to introduce a malty, vanilla flavour to the neutral alcohol
  • Rye: A grain used for its sour, peppery and earthy taste
  • Corn: Chosen for a sweet, neutral and clean end flavour

Why Grain-Based Gin Is So Popular

Grain-based gins are extremely popular in gin production, as they offer more of a ‘blank canvas’ for the addition of botanicals and other additives in comparison to other options. Grain Neutral Spirit, or GNS, is high-purity, allowing juniper to be the forefront taste in gin. Grain is also widely available and cost-effective, with lower production costs.

Other Options for Gin Production

Gin can be made with a range of other base materials, many of which are naturally gluten-free. These include:

  • Root vegetables: Potatoes can be utilised in gin, similarly to how they are used for the distillation of vodka
  • Fruits: Grapes, apples and plums can be used as a base alcohol for gin
  • Sugars: Molasses, sugarcane or sugar beets provide an alternative to grains

 

There are specific requirements that distillers need to meet to label their product as a gin. This includes gin being a neutral spirit distilled from a natural source and reaching a minimum ABV of 37.5% for the final product. While gin doesn’t have to be made of grain, it remains the most popular option for many leading brands.

Does Grain-Based Gin Contain Gluten?

While the grains used to make gin do contain gluten, gin itself is completely gluten-free in its base state. This is a result of the distillation process, which means most gin is actually gluten-free gin. 

Understanding Gluten in Alcohol

Gluten isn’t an additive or required ingredient in the alcohol brewing process for gin or other spirits. Grains are typically used for making alcohol, as they contain the sugars and starches that feed yeast. This enables fermentation, producing alcohol. Beers and ales are fermented but not distilled, which is why many of these products still contain gluten. As no distillation takes place, the gluten is still present within the alcohol. 

How Distillation Removes Gluten

Distillation involves the heating or boiling of the neutral alcohol in a still, typically in fermented mash form. This separates the alcohol from the base mash by turning it into vapours. These are then condensed back into gin. Gluten cannot evaporate like alcohol, which means it is left behind in the mash. This effectively separates the grain element of the alcohol from the final product. 

Are All Spirits Gluten-Free?

Any spirit that is made through a distillation process will be gluten-free. The only exception to this rule is where gluten is introduced later in the process. For example, certain additives may contain gluten. Cocktails containing gin will also not be 100% gluten-free, depending on the additional ingredients used to make the cocktail, such as beer or ale. 

Is Gin Completely Gluten-Free?

In its distilled form, gin is considered gluten-free. However, it’s still important to read labels and research different gin products to ensure they are completely free of gluten.

Gin Additives That Contain Gluten

Gin is typically flavoured with a range of different botanicals and additions to make it stand out on the shelf and appeal to varying tastes. However, some of these additives will contain gluten. You should watch out for the following:

  • Malt flavouring and extract: A flavouring used to sweeten gins that often comes from barley
  • Flavoured syrups: These may contain gluten as a stabiliser or a carrying agent
  • Shimmer and glitter: In some cases, decorative additions to gin can contain gluten

How To Tell if Gin Contains Gluten

The best way to confirm whether your gin contains gluten or not is reading the label. Certain gins will have official certification that confirms they are gluten-free. Reading the ingredients can also provide insight into additives included after distillation. 

Alternatively, you can choose classic gins with no added flavours, which is the safest option for gin, as it is extremely unlikely to contain any form of gluten. If you prefer a bit more flavour, checking the company’s website, like our page for our Brummie Gin, can also provide insight into whether gin is gluten-free.

Discover Gluten-Free Beer and Gin from Birmingham Brewing Company

At Birmingham Brewing Company, we provide locally brewed gluten-free beers and gin that’s distilled in-house, providing our customers with flavourful drinks that are completely safe for coeliacs and those with gluten intolerance. 

Shop our gluten-free beer and gin online today or get in touch to chat to one of our friendly team about your allergy requirements.

Made in Birmingham

Try Brummie Gin

Looking for a gluten-free gin with proper Birmingham character? Brummie Gin is made in Stirchley and offers a fresh, distinctive alternative to your usual bottle.

It’s a great option if you want to explore a locally made gin while sticking to a gluten-free choice.

  • Gluten-Free
  • Made in Birmingham
  • 40% ABV
Shop Brummie Gin

Related Products

What Our Clients Say
778 reviews